It’s S/O/L/E Food Tuesday. Come over to the Other Side – as in Vegan.

What is Vegan?

I always think of it as the extreme form of vegetarianism. Like the Southern Baptists of Protestantism, maybe? Well, that’s sure to stir the pot. Let’s try a different analogy. Better yet, let’s see what my friends Merriam and Webster have to say:

a strict vegetarian who consumes no animal food or dairy products: one who abstains from using animal products (as leather)

(did you know it can be pronounced “vejan”, too?)

So for instance a vegetarian might have a veggie burger made from soy products, mushrooms, onions. He or she could have a slice of cheese (ovo-lacto vegetarians consume eggs and dairy). But, a vegan would eschew the cheese.

From the Vegan.org site:

Vegans also avoid dairy and eggs, as well as fur, leather, wool, down, and cosmetics or chemical products tested on animals. Veganism, the natural extension of vegetarianism, is an integral component of a cruelty-free lifestyle.

There’s even a debate within the vegetarian community about whether it’s kosher (so to speak, having nothing to do with Judaism) to consume honey. The cruelty-free aspect is the debate because bees can be killed in the production. Vegans who are diabetic, also have issues with insulin but apparently there is now a vegan-friendly insulin option!

Since it’s meat-free Tuesday, I thought I’d mention the Other Side Cafe here in Boston. It is a vegetarian restaurant that serves many vegan dishes. I can’t find a website and their phone rings busy so I can’t tell you for sure. They won a Best of Boston for Vegetarian Restaurant.

Our Tuesday Recipe – Butternut Polenta with Spicy Wilted Spinach

I have another wonderful recipe from Vivian Bauquet Farre today to share with you. This recipe is for polenta made with butternut squash. This time of year we have an abundance of gorgeous root vegetables and squashes. I bought this carnival squash the other day.

Here is Viviane’s Butternut Squash Polenta with Spicy Wilted Spinach. I’ve been making lots of greens “agrodolce” style (a bit of sugar and a splash of balsamic), but I’m intrigued by Viviane’s use of paprika (2 kinds!) here and just got some lovely new paprika so this is my next recipe I think.

Thank you Viviane!

Butternut Squash

  • Excellent source of vit
  • A very good source of potassium, fiber
  • A good source of omega 3 fatty acids, B1, copper, tryptophan, B6, B3, B5
  • Very good for lung health, may lower one’s risk of lung cancer, even among smokers!

So enjoy your butternut squash polenta today!

Vodpod videos no longer available.

~ by jacqueline1230 on October 28, 2008.

7 Responses to “It’s S/O/L/E Food Tuesday. Come over to the Other Side – as in Vegan.”

  1. I used to visit the Otherside Cafe a lot in college, not because it consciously registered with me that it had vegetarian options, but because it was tasty. Your post reminds me that perhaps I should revisit it.

  2. I’ve never been – crazy huh? It’s in a funny spot unless you go to Berkelee…

  3. Hey this is Anna from the OtherSide Cafe. Just wanted to let you know that we do have many vegetarian options as well as vegan. We don’t have a website. But, you can find us on MySpace and Yelp. Feel free to shoot me an email and I’d be happy to answer any questions you may have.

  4. Hi Anna – thanks for stopping by! I’d love to hear more and maybe I can come for lunch (I’ll pay of course) and you could introduce me to some vegan dishes? I’d love to bring my readers more info and another resource for good vegetarian/vegan eating. I’ll email you directly to arrange it!

  5. Otherside Cafe is rad. Their veggie burrito is super-filling, their beer selection is tops, and they have a great new wine list with biodynamic and sustainable wines. The coffee and smoothies are just the frosting on the cake (is it mixing metaphors to compare one food to another? haha). I’ve also been to a few parties held there and their shared platters are great too if you’re dealing with veggie guests of any kind. My only beef: I love loud music normally, but the volume of the soundtrack in the OTC is sometimes cranked to super-high levels, which makes me avoid it sometimes if I’m trying to have a catchup session with a friend (where otherwise the OTC would be the perfect spot for it).

  6. Got it. Time to put it on the list. Noticed you have “beef” with the music. Ha ha- you are such a wit! Maybe we should plan a lunch date?

  7. […] have me sampling our vegetarian and vegan offerings right here in Boston at the Other Side Cafe. After my post last week, I’ve been invited for a visit. I look forward to reporting back! View Poll Possibly related […]

Leave a Reply

