Why you won’t see me in Al’s

This bánh mì or Vietnamese sandwich is so delicious and so ridiculously inexpensive; fresh, crisp cool vegetables, hot sweet-salty grilled meat, crispy crackly light as a feather baguette, bit of hot pepper, and umami til the cows come home…all for about $2.50 – $3.00 to “supersize” it.

Bánh mì are made of extremely fresh ingredients. Not mystery-meat pressed into a loaf then sliced, stuffed into bread “fresh baked” (probably frozen) loaves, trucked from across the miles….

You can ban me from Al’s, it’s bánh mì for me!

(To those who won’t walk three blocks instead of two, you don’t know what you’re missing. If you’re nervous about going on your own, just let me know… I’ll take you there!)

~ by jacqueline1230 on October 20, 2008.

2 Responses to “Why you won’t see me in Al’s”

  1. I love a good Vietnamese sandwich. I still can’t believe how inexpensive they are for what you get _ a symphony of flavors and textures. I’m grateful to live near San Jose, which has more Vietnamese people than any other city ouside of Vietnam. What that means is: a lot of great bahn mi, and a whole lot of other wonderful Vietnamese dishes readily available.

  2. […] Read about The Perfect Sandwich, here. […]

Leave a Reply

