NWT- S/O/L/E Food – Pizza with homemade Sourdough Crust; Chopped Salads

We do love irony. Writing Veg, thinking Meat.

Here I am posting my next Meat-Free Tuesday post and preparing for my private butchery class we purchased last year at the benefit for the Mass Farmers Markets. We’re going to be learning from “Crazy Ronny” Savenor how to butcher a pig. Next time I get a huge ham, my kitchen won’t look like a Civil War Surgery Tent.

Back to our regularly scheduled programming…

I discovered a couple of resources for us as we learn to eat more sustainable, low-carbon meat-free meals.

The Boston Vegetarian Society hosts an annual Vegetarian Food Festival and it’s coming up November 1 at the Reggie Lewis Center.

Saturday, November 1, 2008
10 AM – 6 PM
Reggie Lewis Athletic Center
1350 Tremont Street, Boston Massachusetts
Free admission • Free food sampling
Free parking • Subway stop across the street

Check out their website for lots of helpful links and information. How to “Go Vegetarian”, Recipes, tips on Vegetarian restaurants or eating veg in “regular” restaurants.

This week’s Meat-free recipe:

As readers know I’ve been enjoying Adventures in Sourdough. It occured to me in a blinding flash of the obvious, that homemade pizza which we so enjoy,(and I now make with a sourdough crust), is meat-free. If one were looking for vegan (which would exclude cheese) this wouldn’t do. But if you’re simply going meat-free, this is a delicious break that doesn’t feel like a sacrifice!

Sourdough Pizza Crust (for one pie)

  • 1.5 C sourdough starter, room temperature*
  • 1 TBSP Olive Oil
  • 1 tsp coarse salt
  • 1.5 C bread flour
  • water

The thickness of your starter will determine how much water or additional flour you may need.

Preheat pizza stone to 400 degrees in the oven. Pizza stones are not unitaskers and should be in your kitchen! I use mine all the time. I bake bread on it, I re-heat delivery pizza on it. Okay, maybe that’s it.. but once you’ve used it, you’ll see what a difference it makes!

Mix all the ingredients to a knead-able consistency. Knead 5 minutes on dough hook if using a machine. Or by hand, probably 10 minutes? Enjoy the process, work out your tensions. Once it’s smooth, cover, let rest 30 minutes or more. You can wrap and store this for up to one week. Let it come to room temp before rolling out if your dough’s been refrigerated.

Top with sauce, veggies and cheese. I used about 3/4 C of canned roasted organic tomato I had leftover from another meal, one anchovy (umami), 1-2 TBSP of tomato paste, marjoram, minced fresh garlic for sauce.

Toppings: I carmelized one half of a very large red onion, about three large white mushrooms, we had some Havarti (okay not classic, but it’s a nice mild, melting cheese) and grated parmigiano-reggiano. I drizzled on some truffle oil.

Tale of Two Salads:

Lia Huber, author of Swirling Notions the official blog of Clos du Bois Winery, reminds us that our favorite end of summer salad: Caprese is ours to enjoy for just a while longer. Get your last great tomatoes – late ripening in many locations due to rain – now, and enjoy this delicious salad.

See Lia’s blog for her End of Summer Chopped Caprese, here.

My salad was this fractal-icious crunchy flavor symphony. See the little Romanesco fractal?

I added hard-boiled eggs which pretty much made this a main meal in itself. But other ingredients were red and purple bell pepper, tomatoes, cucumbers, kalamata olives, Romanesco cauliflower, red onion, and some pickled peppers. Very crunchy, hot, briney, sweet satisfying.

Lia and I agree on lots of things. Our love of Maldon Salt is new to me, I just realized she calls for it in her salad. My introduction to it was through Barton Seaver at his demo in Greenville, SC at the Southern Exposure event. He passed a plate of it through the audience so we could each see it and taste it. Unlike other salts, this has a very distinct crunch which makes it wonderful on salads.

Let me know how you like these recipes and if you’re nearby and need some sourdough starter, I feed mine frequently so always have a cup I cull out. Yours for the asking! C’mon – save me from myself. I cannot throw it away so I’m making popovers, biscuits, pancakes…

~ by jacqueline1230 on October 7, 2008.

2 Responses to “NWT- S/O/L/E Food – Pizza with homemade Sourdough Crust; Chopped Salads”

  1. […] it but you could enjoy it meat-free. The crust is very easy, delicious, and of course, sourdough. See here for […]

  2. We do agree on a lot of things, don’t we? That pizza looks marvelous . . .

Leave a Reply

