On Bread and Life

I’ve been baking bread again. It’s a good thing to do and I’ve missed it. I have to dig around and see if I can find my old recipe. Lately, I’ve been experimenting with sourdough.

The process of fermentation brings us such joy – bread, wine, cheese, beer.

I can’t help thinking as I feed the starter, proof the sponge, watch it rise; how so much about baking is a metaphor for life. There are processes that must be followed. Times you can make changes and other times you must stick to the plan. Sometimes things sour, go South in a big way. Sometimes, that can have a delicious result.

Getting into a sticky mess can be fun. Kneading is powerfully soothing and satisfying. Creating something wonderful from humble ingredients, reminds me that we can be sitting amidst the makings of joy and not know it.

Few things smell as good as bread baking in the oven. Or taste as good as warm homemade bread, fresh from the oven.

Here’s a pictorial tour of my bread baking re-initiation.

Baking can be a healing thing, too.

Years ago, when I’d been laid off from one or another job during the downturn of that year (getting more frequent, aren’t they?) I decided to stave off depression by using the time to not only conduct a job search, but to teach myself to bake a pie.

Read about my “Layoff Pie” here. Includes a fool-proof pie crust recipe. One of my most popular posts on Suite.

Blackberry-Gooseberry Pie

~ by jacqueline1230 on September 20, 2008.

4 Responses to “On Bread and Life”

  1. Oh man, that bread looks incredible. Give me a hunk of cheese and a slab of fresh bread, and I’m a happy camper. Low-carb diets be damned!

  2. I know. Low Carb as a concept stinks! (IMHO) Couldn’t do it. When I whine about my minor food allergies I stop myself by chanting “at least it’s not gluten – imagine a world with no bread!”

  3. paul and I have decided that we’re sticking to the bread, cheese and olive diet for a while. It’s cheap, so satisfying, and you feel healthier afterwards than if you ate a big fat steak. Problem is, I haven’t yet found a good place to buy bread and I def do not have the patience or skill to make it. You and Dad are pretty amazing with your sourdoughs…sigh.

  4. […] On Bread and Life […]

Leave a Reply

