Obsession or Passion? The Staub, le Creuset Collection Grows (and Grows)


As you can see the mack-daddy 16.5 Qt barely fits (but it can hold two pork butts for my City Girl Pulled Pork or a mess o’ Jack’s Superbowl Chili) but the rack is sturdy and everything else fits nicely (the Staub kettle is on the stove). So now I have this gorgeous collection, including the stockpot on top which has been put into service already: callaloo and poached chicken breasts.

A find of half-price flageolet beans must be used now and that green Staub is just dying to help me with my first cassoulet. They’re practically speaking to me…I’ll have to see what spy-girl has to say about it. Do you think I have to confit some duck legs first? Maybe just some nice pork and sausage with the beans and veg?

After doing some research for my friend David about Chadon Beni Sauce; I realized the “calliloo” Caleb found at the farmers’ market is another Jamaican staple. Here’s the Callaloo from the farmers’ market:

We knew it had to be good for you, probably tasty, too. We got a huge bunch.

Purple potatoes, bacon, three little Thai peppers, onion, chicken broth and then some lite coconut milk. The soup was delicious but I overcooked it, the callaloo got a little dark. I’ll try it again though. Good, healthy and inexpensive. Supposed to be very good source of vitamins A, B6, C, riboflavin, folate, and also lots of minerals: calcium, iron, magnesium, phosphorus, potassium, zinc, copper. The oxalic acid makes the calcium difficult to absorb, however.

Still, this is worth picking up and trying. I’d love Kabocha or butternut squash instead of potatoes but that will have to wait till I’m making it for some other company or myself since we have mixed marriage when it comes to squash.

We got some more callaloo suggestions from the cabbie who took us to Estragon. More on our Estragon experience here, Estragon is Serious about Cachondeo.

Here are some other Farmers’ Market pics:

Blackberries, gooseberries, currants, raspberries

Eggplants mmmm, peppers, thinking ratatouille?

Really love your peaches…

~ by jacqueline1230 on August 15, 2008.

Leave a Reply

