Father’s Day Blues

Blue Label

Some of you may know that Scotch is a favorite of mine, single malts from the Highlands.

Scotch figures into my semi-funk this time of year, too. It was my father’s suggestion that “Santa would prefer Scotch with his cookies” one year that ended my childhood belief in the mythical red-suited bearer of gifts…it just seemed too much of a coincidence that Santa and Dad shared the same brand preference.

In addition to Scotch (my intro to it was Glenlivet, not a bad start, come to think of it) he also introduced me to foods of different cultures. I learned many good and some hard lessons from him, one of the most formative was the love of good food. My post from last year is here.

If your father is a scotch drinker and you’re looking for a cool gift you might be interested in a really swell blended Scotch, check out Johnny Walker’s engraved Father’s Day bottles. In Boston you can find them here, at a number of local stores.

Blue Skies

This year and each one since I met my husband, I am fortunate to have a Dad who is gentle and supportive in my life. We just spent a lovely couple of days on Nantucket with him, my mother-in-law and my mom (sporting her new Nantucket basket necklace).

lunch at the Wauwinet

It was full of beautiful moments, good food, and lots of laughs. These moments are more and more precious as he recovers from his cancer treatment we are all so thankful for our time together.

one of our desserts

a curiously skinny sculpture welcomes you from garden.

~ by jacqueline1230 on June 4, 2008.

One Response to “Father’s Day Blues”

  1. love the nantucket shots!

Leave a Reply

