The Best $7.00 You Can Spend

zyliss-peeler.jpg

This Zyliss vegetable peeler is my new favorite kitchen tool. I didn’t believe a vegetable peeler would make much of a difference, but this one rocks. It out does the elegant stainless model I received as a gift years ago. It also out does the little Japanese models I used to adore.

Zyliss also happens to make my new favorite basting brush. I used it as my “mop” for my Carolina pulled pork. It’s a silicone brush with a flap in between the bristles that simply helps the brush hold more stuff. Pop it in the dishwasher clean as a whistle and no bristles in your food. Don’t you just hate when that happens?

Don’t forget to check my list of other Essential Kitchen Gadgets. 

~ by jacqueline1230 on February 10, 2008.

4 Responses to “The Best $7.00 You Can Spend”

  1. $7.00? Is it that much better than the standard $1 stainless steel model that seems to work better than every other peeler we’ve tried?

  2. Thank YOU! I just threw away my last veggie peeler in disgust. The thing never works right and took forever.

  3. Yes. It is that much better. I promise you will not be disappointed.

  4. On the subject of eating less food brought to us by the agricultural-industrial complex, Certified Fair Trade chocolate is widely available. MA-based Equal Exchange is one of the larger US fair traders. The product is great and can be purchased from their web site; http://www.equalexchange.com. Also, the web site is a good resource for fair trade economics and standards.

    Indulge and support world peace.

    Cheers.

Leave a Reply

