Bobby with Orange Fingers*


Sometimes junk is okay. Like Cheetos. I love Cheetos. They’re light and airy and cheesy. They are a color not found in nature and only found occasionally in unnatural items such as Bears throwback jerseys.

Last night, after the Sox beat the Rox in Game 3 (did you know that our pitcher Matsuzaka now has a .500 batting average?! At least until he bats again…) but after we replayed all the highlights and went to bed, I was still too jacked up to sleep.

So I picked up a book: Anthony Bourdain’s

I finished it in one read. As an excruciatingly slow reader, this is not common for me. But here is what I was left with. No beautiful turns of phrase. No nuances. No epiphanies or insights. No characters that will remain with me, like someone I just met at a party.

But, when you have a junk food craving sometimes a half bag of Cheetos will do. Salty, cheesy, no high expectations, but a little something. Just a fix.

At about 5 AM I realized that was what Bobby Gold was. And no orange fingers after.

* Each chapter is entitled: “Bobby in Color,” “Bobby at Work,” “Bobby the Diplomat.”
Straightforward aspiring-to-Elmore prose.

~ by jacqueline1230 on October 28, 2007.

One Response to “Bobby with Orange Fingers*”

  1. [...] over time, I developed this soft spot, this love-hate thing for him. I read his books (see Bobby with Orange Fingers), watch his shows (I have him to thank him for the introduction to Ferran Adria) (and my husband who [...]

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.