October is Sustainable Seafood Month – Teach a Man a Fish


In the US it is actually but since I’m Queen here at the Leather District Gourmet Blog – I get to change the holidays as I wish. It is good being Queen.

And, to celebrate I am hosting my first (dare I add “annual”?) BLOG EVENT!

What is a blog event? You probably have a lot of questions, so here is a handy FAQ I prepared just for you.

1. What is a blog event? Do I have to dress up for it? Buy a ticket? Find a date?
A blog event takes place in the blogosphere only. You may participate completely nude if you like, or in chef’s whites, sweats, goofy shorts. No tickets needed.

Dates, well, that’s up to you.

2. What does a blog event look like?
Essentially, it’s a contest for food bloggers/ home cooks/ chefs/ food writers / whomever to enter a recipe on a theme and a photo of the dish.

Here is a beautiful example of a roundup on a Sugar High Friday blog event (theme: figs) from our friends at Cream Puffs in Venice.

3. Why this, why now?
October is National Seafood Month and I thought it would be an ideal time (especially given my other deadlines and projects) to host my first ever Sustainable Seafood Blog Event.

4. Do you have a snappy name for this event? And what is Sustainable Seafood anyway?
Give a man a fish and you’ll feed him for a day. Teach a man to fish and you’ll feed him for a lifetime. Teach a man to fish/cook sustainably and we’ll all eat better, longer.

Maybe not so snappy but you get the idea, right?

For a great sense of how sustainability affects our food/fish supply see this Op-Ed piece from Chef Justin North or see Chef Barton Seaver’s restaurant site for Hook in DC.

Also check out the Monterey Bay Aquarium Seafood Watch Program site for info and a free pocket card. Read below about how you can get the sustainable choices guide for your cell phone and how it can bring money to you.*

5. I’m in! Now, what do I have to do?
1. Prepare a recipe using sustainable seafood.
2. Send a photo (100 x 100 pixels) in an email to me.
3. Subject line should read: “Teach a Man to Fish”
4. Include your blog or website; URL of blog/website; your name; country.

Also – be sure to tell your friends about this chance at fame, fortune and fabulous prizes.*

Now, to paraphrase the wise sage, Cartman:

“Get in the kitchen and cook me some fish!”
Other details:
– You can add your email address (see sidebar sign up) to ensure you get updated info on this event.
– I’ll be collecting entries for about 10 days to two weeks.
– The “round-up” (where I post all the entries , edit info submitted with them on this blog) will take more or less time depending on how many entries there are and how many other jobs (read: paid jobs) appear in the roundup phase. Sorry, just being honest.
– No, I’m not shilling for a product, a particular aquarium, or sustainable program or chef or restaurant.
– Yes, there are some that are near and dear to my heart. Just ask.
Statements with asterisk* are not necessarily completely, verifiable. Therefore you cannot sue me if they don’t come true for you. Other examples of asterisks that are unprovable: *”This home run ball was hit by the one person who may have been on steroids in the MLB.” See what I mean?

~ by jacqueline1230 on October 2, 2007.

6 Responses to “October is Sustainable Seafood Month – Teach a Man a Fish”

  1. Hi Jacqueline, This sounds FANTASTIC! Can I submit a video? Cheers! Kathy

  2. how about a photo of the dish and a link to the video on your site?

  3. Sounds like a plan! Thanks

  4. i am a low tech guy…what is your e-mail address so that i may enter..

  5. Sorry – “email me” link is in my sidebar. I’ll make it more prominent.

  6. I’m in. I did send you the entry to your email.
    http://indonesia-eats.blogspot.com/2007/10/teach-man-to-fish-banjarese-cooked.html

Leave a comment